Board of Directors

Our board underwrites all of our operating costs, allowing 100 percent of your donation to go directly to our grantees.

Meet Our Board

Our board of directors provides strategic guidance and oversight to A Better Chicago. Comprised of ambitious and experienced leaders from the public and private sectors, the board shares our organizational values and is deeply committed to our mission of creating opportunity for all Chicagoans.

Stephen Beard

Chief Operating Officer

Adtalem Global Education

Sean Berkowitz

Partner & Global Chair of Litigation

Latham & Watkins LLP

Michael Collins


Bain & Company, Inc.

Bill Conway


Raputs, LLC

Becky Elrad

Civic Leader

Ricardo Estrada

President & CEO

Metropolitan Family Services

John Gilligan

Managing Director

BDT Capital Partners, LLC

Jack Keller


Keller Group, Inc.

Chris Keogh

Managing Director

Goldman Sachs & Co.

Timothy Knowles

Founder & Managing Partner

The Academy Group

Liam Krehbiel

Founder + Board Chair

A Better Chicago

Stewart Mather

Founding Partner

The Mather Group

Taylor O’Malley

Co-Founding Partner & President

Balyasny Asset Management LP

Ginger Ostro

Civic Leader

Trisha Rooney

Founder & CEO

R4 Services LLC

Tracy Schwartz-Ward

Managing Principal

Schwartz Capital Group

Timothy Schwertfeger

Chairman & CEO Emeritus

Nuveen Investments, Inc.

Christian Zann

Civic Leader